Pretty in the Day

She has a pretty kind of day face

unashamedly so in the light

Never an upturned palm as to hide her smile

We had our nest perched high above any worlds

hiding in imagination, a safe haven for lips on lips

Summer kissing with a nervous unknowing

of when it would be time to pass by

Now in the autumn our home is just filled

with mementos of what could have been

and a chill looms in every thought I have

Diluted in a way that makes me uncomfortable

like wine in your glass without tannins

I am an unattached balloon with no purpose

with no one to hold me what is my design

 

Javas L’amer Hark

 

Listening to The Cardigans – I need some fine wine

2 thoughts on “Pretty in the Day

  1. Love is fading, until it vanishes completely in time.
    All the sweet memory in the past, now seems ironic, sad and feels so lost.
    Truth is that she is not your destination but a short stop of your life.
    Though you lost a part of yourself with her, yet you learn & grow up a bit.
    I’ll grab the thread and tie nicely on the balloon, you won’t fly away like blowball.
    Always have the faith in yourself & you deserve someone who can accept you, love you completely forever. xx

    Like

    • Thank you Jen. As always, such a lovely take on what I write and also how it feels to be lost in someone. When friendships pass, the shadows can imprint you and remain but it is what makes us grown. 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a comment